What is the Value of Color?

“Are you fire, are you fury? Are you sacred, are you beautiful?

If you touched my face, would I know you? Looked into my eyes, could I behold you?

What do I know of you, who spoke me into motion?

What do I know…of holy?…

I guess I thought I had figured you out, I heard all the stories, and I learned to talk about how you were mighty to save…but those were only empty words on a page, then I caught a glimpse of who you might be…and the slightest hint of you brought me to my knees…

Where have I even stood, but the shore along your ocean?…

What do I know of holy?… Of the one whom the angels praise…the one to whom all creation knows His name…

What do I know of holy?” (Addison Road, What do I know of Holy).

It’s an important question, for me. When have I arrived? How much education does it take before I “get it?” When will my finite mind understand the infinite? When will my words begin to adequately describe the indescribable God? Where can I find the aspects of God I don’t understand yet? Where are all the places I can find Him/more of Him? Which church is allowable to enter? How do I wrap my mind around God’s kind of love, for me/the world? Which denomination has the supreme knowledge? By the way, when do I have the freedom to believe my understanding is supreme? When do I get the right to put God into my minuscule box? How often is God bigger than me? Bigger than my denomination? Bigger than my school? Bigger than my upbringing? Bigger than my beloved traditions (or lack thereof)? How exactly does God work (and not work?) I mean, exactly? What for God, is too far? How good is God, really? How can God be this merciful, and yet just? And once I figure it all out, what’s the best way to talk about it?…through philosophically cogent arguments…through a poem…through silence? What is the best way to worship God? Through listening to a rock-band in a sunday morning service, through singing a man-written hymn, through sitting in the magnificent world around me – with hands raised – in silence?

The more I think about it, the quieter I get… and I struggle knowing what to say to those who feel like their one way is the right way. That they’ve got it figured out. It’s clear, they are comfortable being loud… They feel safe, since anything outside their safe (or unsafe) box, is dangerous. Without knowing it, their confidence is in their packaging… How do I appropriately respond? Because I’m not so sure I’ve even begun to fathom the meaning of holy, the ways of God. I don’t even have 100% confidence like they do, that “my way is supreme.” Thus, I’m not all that impressed by the packaging (or lack thereof). Even my own packaging isn’t all that impressive, let alone anyone else’s… How do I explain to those I love, that at the same time I despise religiosity, I so enjoy worship! How can I describe where the lines don’t blur? When it feels right, and when it feels not quite… For me, this is a journey and I’m only beginning. That’s sure clear by now. What of those who feel they’ve crossed the finish line, already? I’m jealous, the warm-up still tires me out… What do I say to those who aren’t like me? To those who are comfortable… to those who are content. To those who always feel like they have an answer (how is this not a red-flag?)…  How do I communicate, “I disagree, but I’m on the same side…” Perhaps they could answer the questions I can’t, but it seems too often they haven’t begun to honestly ask the questions I’m asking, yet. So I find I’m living in another world, but yet I’m to make an answer across the border. I’m to justify myself… How do I do it? Am I to answer with questions? with arguments, or with silence? How do I break the all-too-often-unnecessary “us vs. them” ideology? How do I show someone who is color-blind, the beauty of color?

First, I’m gonna try to figure out, “holy.” I’m hoping the rest will follow…

2 thoughts on “What is the Value of Color?

  1. Intimate communion with the Lord is when you see, hear, feel, understand holy. When you figure out holy, the rest doesn’t matter.
    What is holy?
    Psa. 99:3 Let them praise Thy great and awesome name;
    Holy is He.
    Psa. 99:5 Exalt the LORD our God,
    And worship at His footstool;
    Holy is He.
    Psa. 99:9 Exalt the LORD our God,
    And worship at His holy hill;
    For holy is the LORD our God.
    Is. 6:3 And one called out to another and said,
    “Holy, Holy, Holy, is the LORD of hosts,
    The whole earth is full of His glory.”
    Luke 1:49 “For the Mighty One has done great things for me;
    And holy is His name.
    Rev. 4:8 And the four living creatures, each one of them having bsix wings, are full of eyes around and within; and day and night they do not cease to say, HOLY, HOLY, HOLY, is THE LORD GOD, THE ALMIGHTY, WHO WAS AND WHO IS AND WHO IS TO COME.”
    Rev. 20:6 Blessed and holy is the one who has a part in the first resurrection; over these the second death has no power, but they will be cpriests of God and of Christ and will dreign with Him for a thousand years.

  2. Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are
    a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a
    community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on.
    You have done a outstanding job!

Leave a Reply

